Adventures in (Post) Gradland

Thoughts on life after the PhD

Just Don’t Go: Article Round-Up

Not surprisingly, Rebecca Schuman’s “PhDon’t” Slate piece has generated plenty of impassioned agreement and disagreement in the blogosphere and beyond. Some of the responses made me nod my head even more vigorously, some of them made me scratch my head, and some of them just made me want to scream YOU ARE MISSING THE POINT in a very loud voice. Rather than comment extensively on any of the responses, I’ll just take this opportunity to provide a round-up of some of the articles I’ve seen.

I’d like to try and break down some of the arguments for and against humanities grad school that pop up repeatedly in a lot of these pieces, but for now I’ll just let the writing speak for itself. Please feel free to link to other posts or articles that I’ve missed.

2 comments on “Just Don’t Go: Article Round-Up

  1. Anthea
    April 29, 2013

    Oh, a bit of self promotion but I just published a short piece on this issue.

    http://www.senseworlds.com/bewilderness/2013/04/27/2015-and-after/

  2. Anonymous
    April 29, 2013

    Thanks Anthea!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 14, 2013 by in Uncategorized.
Anne McKnight

writing•translation•scholarship on Japan (and a few other things)

A Modern Girl / モダンガール

tales of travel, research, and life

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

