Adventures in (Post) Gradland

Thoughts on life after the PhD

Eek

Just realized it’s been a while since I updated. I have a couple of posts knocking around in my head, but I can’t seem to make the time to put them together. So until then, here are a few random things I have done recently.

  • Saw Jiro Dreams of Sushi. It was really good. Still not sure that I would ever pay 30,000 yen for a meal, though.
  • Made a bunch of jewelry.
  • Worked really long hours but enjoyed most of it. Work is good these days.
  • Became mildly obsessed with the idea of going to Istanbul. And Paris. Paris will probably happen sooner.
  • Was late paying my rent for the first time ever and now owe 2000 yen in late fees. Still kind of beating myself up about it.
  • Tried to watch Anchorman but gave up 20 minutes in when boyfriend said “I’m bored.” (I was bored, too.)
  • Flirted with the idea of setting up a monthly event where women (and men, if they’re interested) could get together and talk about stuff like media, why we’re all expected to wax, sex, politics, and other Important Things. Still flirting with the idea, mostly because I miss having a regular opportunity to have lengthy discussions about Important Things.
  • Wrote a video script for work about the U.S. presidential election and found it really, really hard to be neutral.
  • Ate Cherry Garcia at the Ben & Jerry’s shop in Omotesando. Totally worth the trek in the rain.

That’s all for now, will do my best to post something more substantial soon!

3 comments on “Eek

  1. Jennifer
    October 16, 2012

    Go to Istanbul! I loved it so much and want to go back. Paris is awesome too, but if there were a vote, I’d vote for Istanbul.

  2. gradland
    October 16, 2012

    Yes, definitely want to go (damn Anthony Bourdain for putting exotic ideas and faraway places into my head). A little nervous about the current Turkey-Syria situation, though I guess that’s all happening on the other side of the country.

  3. Anonymous
    October 23, 2012

    This is great!! I heartily endorse the interesting topics discussion group – I am a part of 3 different ones here in Portland (maybe a tad excessive). They all started a little clumsily, but I would recommend a cozy bar/restaurant or someone’s home with food – ooh, and if you can get an “expert” or just well-informed someone to start off with particular subject areas, that helps give it some structure too. I’ve noticed people like a little grounding, and then to jabber. Start with the role of China and Japan in the world!! teehee. xo

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 16, 2012 by in (post) Grad life, Japan.
Anne McKnight

writing•translation•scholarship on Japan (and a few other things)

A Modern Girl / モダンガール

tales of travel, research, and life

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

