Adventures in (Post) Gradland

Thoughts on life after the PhD

Toaster Oven Cooking

I miss my oven a lot less these days.

Oh, I still long for the ability to make cupcakes and manicotti and chicken tetrazzini, but since I discovered how versatile my toaster oven can be, I’ve been pining for its much larger cousin less and less. Unfortunately you can’t really cook for more than one person with a toaster oven (unless you’re willing to cook one person’s dinner first and then wait fifteen minutes while the second batch heats up), but since I eat most of my meals alone that’s fine by me. And as with a rice cooker, you can often just pop stuff in the toaster oven and forget about it.

Here, then, are three of my favorite easy toaster oven recipes.

1. Roasted carrots and potatoes. I’ve sung the praises of roasted veggies before, and I always thought that without a proper oven I’d just have to do without. But no–you can totally make roasted veggies in the toaster oven! Just chop your veggies (I used carrots and potatoes) fairly small (about 1/2 inch thick, and 1 inch long or a little less). Drop them in a small bowl and drizzle with some olive oil, then sprinkle with basil, oregano, salt, and pepper (substitute fresh chopped rosemary for the basil & oregano if you’ve got it, it can be hard to come by in Japan). Mix everything together gently and then spread the veggies flat on a toaster oven-sized piece of parchment paper. Toast for 15 minutes and they’re done. (Note: my toaster oven only has one setting and no visible temperature gauge–if yours is more complex try tinkering with the temperature a bit; too low & it’ll take forever, too high and they’ll burn).

2. Mushrooms with garlic butter. I stole this idea from Gyu-Kaku, where they give you little foil packets filled with meats or veggies plus seasonings and you grill them over a hibachi in the middle of your table. Chop about a cup and a half of  shiitake and maitake mushrooms (or whatever variety you’ve got handy). Place mushrooms on a sheet of tinfoil. Add a tablespoon of chopped garlic and a small chunk of butter. Sprinkle with salt and pepper. Wrap the tinfoil around everything, forming a little packet (make sure it’s tightly closed so all the juices stay in). Pop it in the toaster oven and heat for 10-15 minutes.

3. Salmon with garlic, ginger, and lemon. A great accompaniment to the mushrooms, and you can cook them together in the toaster oven if there’s room. Take one or two small salmon fillets and place on a sheet of tinfoil. Sprinkle with salt and pepper, a drizzle of olive oil, 1/2 tbsp each chopped garlic and ginger, and the zest and juice of half a lemon. Wrap foil around salmon and make a packet, again being careful to close the packet tightly. Cook for fifteen minutes. This one was a real winner–tender, juicy, flavorful and not the least bit over or undercooked.

Just eat them right out of the foil!

Maybe at some point I’ll try making cupcakes in the toaster oven. But that might be pushing it.

5 comments on “Toaster Oven Cooking

  1. Jennifer
    February 28, 2011

    Remember those koala and panda cupcakes I made for hanami one year? I may have made them in a toaster oven. I can’t remember. Could have also been done in my microwave-that-did-everything.

    But remember that time I made cookies for the “Dangerous Liaisons” cast and crew? Definitely done in the toaster oven.

    One of my favorite breakfast sides was always made in that toaster oven: a tomato cut in half with salt and pepper sprinkled on top and garlic chips inserted into the holes. The juice from the tomato softens the garlic. You can also roast a garlic bulb in a toaster oven by wrapping it in foil.

  2. gradland
    February 28, 2011

    Wow, even more possibilities than I thought–I think the problem with cookies and cupcakes is seeking out all the ingredients (though I guess Azabu international could provide). Still, exciting to think that I could even make cookies if I wanted to!

  3. K
    March 9, 2011

    Glad to see that limitation is breeding such creativity in your case. :) Good ideas–I’ve also had luck using my fish oven to roast/grill things besides fish. But I broke down and bought a small roaster oven, which is the size of a crockpot but can roast, bake, slow cook, etc., and that’s been amazing.

    All the same, I will be glad when I’ve returned to the land of regular ovens!

  4. gradland
    March 9, 2011

    I’ve always been tempted to buy one of those roaster ovens, but I’ve never had an apartment with enough space to justify it. Ah well, limited options do breed creativity!

  5. ron sutton
    November 6, 2012

    just bought a toaster oven and like broiling sandwiches open faced but the sides of the bread should be covered w/ meat/cheese/tomato/onion or the plain bread will be done before the rest. Gotta experiment w/ frozen burritos, small pizza etc. less electric than big oven!

Leave a Reply

Emerging from the Cocoon

Thoughts on life after the PhD

A Modern Girl / モダンガール

tales of travel, research, and life

springdaycomedy

Just another WordPress.com site

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 134 other followers

