Adventures in (Post) Gradland

Thoughts on life after the PhD

This Week in Bitter Laughter (Academic Edition)

Adam Ruben, author of Surviving Your Stupid Stupid Decision to Go to Grad School (now available on Amazon!) has created some rhymes to express how we’ve all felt at one time or another:

Salon.com’s Cary Tennis seems to be getting a lot of letters from depressed grad students lately.  His advice is usually spot on, but I think Postacademic’s responses and comments are more helpful.  Click on the “Sense and Sangria” tag for more.

Also from Postacademic–the little pigtailed girl in the “So You Want to Get a PhD in the Humanities” video is all grown up and as blind as ever. I think the most chilling part of this “sequel” video is the ending, when the girl’s adviser says, “Well, I’ve got to go now–we’ve got an orientation session for new grad students.  I hear this is our biggest incoming class ever!”

I’d better get back to writing about Kenzaburo Oe…and death.

4 comments on “This Week in Bitter Laughter (Academic Edition)

  1. Caroline Roberts
    February 4, 2011

    We interviewed Adam Ruben. He is a great guy. I think that one of the main prerequisites for any grad school, regardless of the program, is a sense of humor!

    And good luck writing on your Kenzaburo Oe … and death. (I laughed so hard I spat out my water with that one.)

  2. gradland
    February 4, 2011

    I need to get his book–as the time to go on the job market or turn my back on academia and seek a hamster world job draws near, I’m going to need all the humor I can get!

  3. laxpek
    February 6, 2011

    Thanks for linking to this hilarious video. The academy needs $$ and humour. There’s plenty of the latter, now we just need some of the former…

  4. Pingback: Tweets that mention This Week in Bitter Laughter (Academic Edition) « Adventures in Gradland -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

Anne McKnight

writing•translation•scholarship on Japan (and a few other things)

A Modern Girl / モダンガール

tales of travel, research, and life

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

