Adventures in (Post) Gradland

Thoughts on life after the PhD

Cincinnati What?


I first heard about Cincinnati chili on an episode of A Prairie Home Companion, where I was convinced it had to be a joke.  Cinnamon-flavored chili served over spaghetti?  Pretty weird–but then I fell in love with my black bean espresso chili and also noticed a recipe for the Cincinnati stuff on foodgawker.com, so I decided I had to try it.

The recipe needs some tweaking, but it was pretty yummy.  I didn’t have cayenne pepper, which meant that it came out a little bland, though the cumin, chili powder, cocoa, and cinnamon gave it a nice flavor.  I made a little too much spaghetti, so the chili kind of got lost in all the noodles.  And when I halved the recipe I forgot to halve the amount of beans (I threw them in at the end of the simmering process rather than just adding them to the plate), so it was a little bean-heavy for my taste.  So if you try this out, go for a bit of cayenne, and go easy on the beans and the noodles. It’s traditionally topped with grated cheddar cheese and raw onions, though I’m not a raw onion fan so I left those out.  It’s odd, but it’s yummy!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 21, 2010 by in Food! and tagged .
Emerging from the Cocoon

Thoughts on life after the PhD

A Modern Girl / モダンガール

tales of travel, research, and life

springdaycomedy

Just another WordPress.com site

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 133 other followers

