Adventures in (Post) Gradland

Thoughts on life after the PhD

Am I Dreaming? There’s a Dim Sum Truck!

L.A., I may bitch about your traffic, pollution, strip mall architecture, and unreasonable rents, but the wealth of deliciousness presented in your taco trucks never ceases to amaze me.  Tacos, pupusas, Korean barbecue, even cupcakes.  And now there’s a frickin’ dim sum truck.  Judging by the photos, it looks AWESOME.  I might finally break down and subscribe to Twitter just so I can follow this thing all over town.

UPDATE: In what must surely be a sign that all is right with the universe, the dim sum truck was parked right in front of USC’s University Vilage today as I was leaving!  They were mostly sold out of everything, but I managed to try some shrimp-and-chive har gao, some steamed chicken-and-mushroom buns, and a free serving of sticky rice.  And…wow.  Everything was just as delicious as I’d imagined it, if not better.  Well, to be honest the sticky rice wasn’t really my thing–very glutinous and green tea-flavored–but everything else tasted as fresh and authentic as anything plucked off a wheeled cart in Alhambra.  They’re having an opening night event at The Brig in Van Nuys this Saturday! 

2 comments on “Am I Dreaming? There’s a Dim Sum Truck!

  1. Gastronomer
    February 23, 2010

    The Dim Sum Truck is a dream friggin’ come true ;-)

  2. gradland
    February 23, 2010

    Indeed–I feel like I should reserve my place in line right now!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 23, 2010 by in Food!, Los Angeles and tagged .
Emerging from the Cocoon

Thoughts on life after the PhD

A Modern Girl / モダンガール

tales of travel, research, and life

springdaycomedy

Just another WordPress.com site

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 134 other followers

