Adventures in (Post) Gradland

Thoughts on life after the PhD

Marriage or Netflix?

So I’m recently single.  Coming out of a two-year relationship (six months of which were spent cohabiting), this brings on all sorts of emotions that seem a little too self-indulgent for a public blog.  Strangely, at the moment I’m not feeling plagued by self-doubt or feelings of inadequacy (maybe everything becomes less dramatic as you get older?  or maybe I’m just in denial?).  What annoys me to no end, though, is that I’m now the target of a publishing industry juggernaut that seems determined to convince single women that they’re miserable and pathetic.  From books on meeting him to keeping him to getting thinner to attract him to finally snaring him into matrimony, the number of books that tout the “marriage or bust” message is staggering.

A recent addition to the library is Lori Gottlieb’s annoyingly titled Marry Him: The Case for Settling for Mr. Good Enough. Gottlieb essentially argues that the feminist movement (among other things) has made women far too picky, and that they’d be better off settling for a less-than-perfect mate than spending the bulk of their lives unmarried.  Liesl Schillinger skewers the book beautifully in her review, and rather than attempting a lengthy analysis of my own (haven’t read the book, admittedly) I’ll just include some of her choice quotes:

“Gottlieb moans about the misery of the sad, pathetic single woman, stuck at home with Netflix. But what of the misery of the sad, pathetic, partnered woman, stuck at home with a somnolent spouse or boyfriend who sits around watching TV and eating Chunky soup and won’t let her play her Netflix? What of the un-sad, un-pathetic single women who go to concerts, plays, films and parties, carouse with friends, date, travel, work out, dance, take classes, produce valuable work, and, generally, live life as if they were not coma patients? This is not to say that Gottlieb isn’t correct to assert that some single women are lonely (just as some single men are). This is merely to point out that a human being bears a certain amount of responsibility for his or her own entertainment; and that having a partner is no guarantee of a roaring good time or of a rich emotional life.”

“Do the women Gottlieb scolds (including herself) bear sole responsibility for their outcast state? Maybe some do. But a lot of these women were pathbreakers whose ideals outpaced reality. Some of them may still find the man of their dreams, or the schlub of Gottlieb’s; but if they don’t, are they to be reviled? Is a gold ring a fair trade for 20 years of exhilarating post-collegiate freedom, adventure and growth? Has Gottlieb never heard of an unhappy marriage?”

Like Schillinger, I always wonder where all those lonely, depressed, desperate single women are hiding.  The ones I know seem to be doing just fine–they work, they volunteer, they have great friends, they travel solo to interesting places.  They have relationships or flings when opportunities present themselves.  Some of them genuinely want and hope to marry–or at least have a long-term partnership–but they don’t cling to that idea with a deathgrip.  If it happens, it happens.  If it doesn’t, life’s still great.

I also take issue, like Schillinger, with the idea that married is always better than not.  Unhappy marriages abound.  Happy ones do too, of course–as do happy singles.  I’d argue that it isn’t marriage or singledom that makes you happy or unhappy–it’s your approach to either one (and in the case of marriage, of course, the person you’re with).

I hope I find love again one day, and I hope that when I do I’ll be willing to compromise on certain things, if not “settle” for a partner that I don’t want.  Until then, though, I’ll be tearing through my Netflix, reading books, writing my dissertation, cooking up odd recipes, and going on impromptu whale-watching trips.  If that’s misery or desperation, give me an extra helping.

4 comments on “Marriage or Netflix?

  1. Baffled
    February 2, 2010

    Yeah. You should probably read the book before you review it.

  2. gradland
    February 3, 2010

    You’re right, and I apologize if this presented itself as a book review–that was not my intent. It was meant as a comment on trends in media and publishing in general that seem to heavily promote books, films, TV shows, etc. that are pro-marriage (while marginalizing work that goes against the pro-marriage narrative, like Laura Kipnis’s Against Love and Sandra Tsing-Loh’s recent article that came out against marriage). Schillinger’s review spoke to me not so much because of the book itself, but because of its commentary on what I feel is an industry that’s designed to sell product by making unmarried women feel inadequate.

  3. Jennifer
    February 3, 2010

    Heh. Baffled should probably read the post before declaring it to be a book review.

    That said, I don’t get where all these people are who are declaring that single = lonely and sad. Though I know there are certainly *some* people who will make that assertion, it’s just not a notion that I’ve come across too often in person or through the media. I mean, I do come across pro-marriage ravings, but, while annoying, they are not necessarily anti-single.

  4. gradland
    February 3, 2010

    Yeah, it’s certainly not something I get from the people around me, but I still feel like the overall message in so many mainstream TV shows, movies, and chat show segments is “Single? Don’t despair, your happiness will eventually arrive (in the form of a partner)!” I suppose this isn’t exactly *anti*-single, but I feel like it does support the idea that singledom is a transition period, a natural step on the way to marriage or long-term partnership, and a state that people tolerate rather than genuinely enjoy (“10 Good Things About Being Single” stories abound, which seems to presume that most people focus on the bad things about it).

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 2, 2010 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , .
Emerging from the Cocoon

Thoughts on life after the PhD

A Modern Girl / モダンガール

tales of travel, research, and life

springdaycomedy

Just another WordPress.com site

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 134 other followers

